Equinox Marathon

The Equinox Marathon has enthralled and exhausted participants for 50 years. When University of Alaska Fairbanks ski coach Jim Mahaffey tasked two of his athletes, Nat Goodhue and Gail Bakken, with laying out a 26.2-mile trail in 1963, the concept was novel: only about a dozen marathons existed in the United States. Quickly the community embraced the event and it grew from 143 entrants to more than 1,000. Several times in the late 1960s, the Equinox exceeded even the famous Boston Marathon in participation.

Full Profile


Iconic Marathon

Equinox Marathon | Class of 2013 | Event Category

Alaska Sports Hall Of Fame


Help select the Class of 2020!

It’s November, which means public voting for the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020 is open! Every year the public plays an ...