More write-in nominations (Hall of Fame)

November 19, 2009

Here is a list of write-in nominations from the public the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame has received for future consideration.

If these recommendations get enough votes their names will be added to next year’s ballot.

But don’t forget—voting for the Class of 2010 ends Wednesday.

Dolly Lefever—First and only Alaskan woman to climb the Seven Summits, all non-guided, and the first to ski from Anchorage to Nome in the 80’s.

Stan Brown—Visionary and longtime president of Pop Warner Little Scholars Football & Cheerleading.

Geoff Roes—Record-breaking ultra marathon runner and first to finish Crow Pass under three hours.

Brush Christianson—Successful and longtime high school and UAA hockey coach.

Eric Heil—Five-time Arctic Man champion.

Egil Ellis—A 9-time winner of Open North American Championship and 4-time winner of Fur Rondy sled dog races.

Roxy Wright—First woman to win Open Fur Rondezvous Sled Dog Race, and set multiple records in sprint racing.

Nancy Pease—Six-time Mt Marathon champion, 9-time Crow Pass champ. Holds course records in both races.

Jessica Moore—WNBA player and 3-time NCAA champion for UConn.

+Egil Ellis winning Open North American Championship in Fairbanks for the ninth time, pulling within one of the record held by George Attla, a 2007 Alaska Sports Hall of Fame inductee.

+ Chad Ogden–Ultra Marathon during Kodiak Crab Festival.

  Comments and Suggestions