Griffin added to Wade Trophy list (Basketball)

January 29, 2010
Kelsey Griffin

Kelsey Griffin of Eagle River is now officially one of the top 30 players in the country.

Griffin, a two-time Big 12 selection from the University of Nebraska, was a preseason All-American and considered by many to be one of the best players, but until you get recognized by a prestigious award like the Wade Trophy it is just talk.

The 6-foot-2 Alaskan was added to the list this week.

Griffin, of Chugiak High fame, leads the sixth-ranked Huskers in scoring (19.1) and the Big 12 in rebounding (10.4). She’s also tops on the team with 33 steals and 16 charges absorbed.

The Wade Trophy is awarded to the top NCAA Division I women’s basketball player in the nation.

Past winners include Nancy Lieberman, Cheryl Miller, Rebecca Lobo and Sue Bird.

  Comments and Suggestions