Class of ’12 to be inducted tonight [Hall of Fame]

February 28, 2012
Alaska Sports Hall of Fame

The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame will honor the Class of 2012 tonight starting at the Anchorage Museum auditorium. The event is free.

A large screen, seating and catering in the museum atrium will accommodate overflow viewing.

The ceremony will feature video biographies, portrait unveilings, and acknowledgements by the Class of 2012 inductees.

Bill Spencer and Vern Tejas will be the two people inducted.

The Gold Medal Basketball Tournament in Juneau will be recognized in the “Event” category and the UAF men’s basketball team’s upset victory in the Top of the World Classic in 2002 will be honored in the “Moment” category.

The evening will also feature the first annual Directors’ Awards presentation.

The Joe Floyd Award, The Trajan Langdon Award and the Pride of Alaska Awards will be presented during the ceremony. Steve Nerland, Don Winchester, The Chugiak High School football team, the Alaska Aces and the UAA women’s basketball team will all be honored during this portion of the program.