The Hall to honor Alaska sports stars tonight

Dunbar, Trevor13A star-studded cast will be on hand for Alaska’s big sports awards night tonight, from 7:30-9:00pm, at the Anchorage Museum in downtown Anchorage. The 2014 Inductees and Directors’ Awards winners are slated for a variety of honors, enshrinements and video tributes. The evening will also feature a special tribute to Alaska’s 2014 Sochi Olympians.

Basketball standouts Mario Chalmers of Anchorage and Jeannie Hebert-Truax of Wasilla by way of Fairbanks will both be enshrined into the Hall. Joining them in the “Event” category will be the Yukon Quest International Sled Dog Race. UAA men’s basketball’s 1988 upset of No. 2 ranked and eventual NCAA champion Michigan will be inducted in the “Moment” Category.

The Pride of Alaska Award, for consistent excellence in athletic competition, will be presented to Kikkan Randall for women and Eric Strabel and Trevor Dunbar will be recognized as co-winners of the men’s side. Rounding out the Directors’ Awards recipients are Dick Mize (Joe Floyd Award) and Marko Cheseto (Trajan Langdon Award).

Erik Bjornsen, Sadie Bjornsen, Holly Brooks, Andrew Kurka, Randall, Jessica Schultz, Ryan Stasser and Joe Tompkins will be honored for representing Alaska and Team USA during the Olympics and Paralympics in Sochi.

The event is free and open to the public, however seating is limited. There will be overflow seating with a live feed on large screens and hosted bar in the museum atrium. An invite-only VIP reception will precede the event in the atrium from 6-7:30pm.

For more information email