Alaska Sports Hall of Fame events scheduled Thursday, Friday

July 27, 2016

Alaska Sports Hall of Fame VIP Event_Page_1The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame has assembled many of Alaska’s greatest athletes for its 10th anniversary this week, a group that includes Olympians, Native sports icons, mainstream athletes, mushers, mountaineers and many more.

A free community celebration from 6-9 p.m. Thursday at the Alaska Airlines Center kicks off the festivities.

“It is going to be a once-in-a-lifetime thing for Alaskans of all ages – a tremendous opportunity to meet and learn about many of the greats in our state’s sports heritage,” ASHOF executive director Harlow Robinson said.

More than three dozen sports legends are expected to attend, including Olympic medalists Tommy Moe, Janay DeLoach and Kris Thorsness, Super Bowl champion Mark Schlereth, hockey Stanley Cup winner Scott Gomez, Olympic skiers Kikkan Randall and Nina Kemppel, Mount Marathon champions Bill Spencer, Nancy Pease and David Norris, World Eskimo-Indian Olympics athletes Reggie Joule and Nick Hanson, champion mushers Dallas Seavey and Lance Mackey, 2016 inductee Don Clary, young running sensation Allie Ostrander, and many more.

A full list of guest athletes is available on request.

Athlete honorees will be available for interviews from 5-6 p.m on the lower level of the Alaska Airlines Center near the southeast entrance to the floor.

The festivities include a parade of athletes, presentation of commemorative awards, and a meet-and-greet line where getting photos and autographs will be possible. The first 200 to arrive will receive a free commemorative poster.

“This event is all about giving Alaskans a chance for a memorable interaction and then to come home with a keepsake,” Robinson said, “And a lifetime memory.”

For more details, visit or the ASHOF Facebook page’s “Upcoming Events.”

On Friday, July 29, the 2016 class will be inducted at the Ted Stevens International Airport in a ceremony that will include a banquet and memorabilia auction. That event is sold out. Proceeds benefit Healthy Futures, the signature program of ASHOF.

Established in 2006, the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to teach, honor and inspire.