Swayman first Alaskan since 2001 to win Walter Brown Award

March 17, 2020
Jeremy Swayman hockey

Jeremy Swayman

Anchorage’s Jeremy Swayman all season was considered to be one of college hockey’s top goalies, but then he separated himself from the rest of the pack over the final three weeks of the season.

The University of Maine junior netminder led the NCAA with 1,099 saves and finished with three shutouts in his last five starts to cement his status.

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston certainly noticed Swayman’s exploits between the pipes, naming him the winner of the 68th Walter Brown Award, which is presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 and is the nation’s oldest nationally recognized college hockey honor.

Swayman is the first Alaskan since Ty Conklin in 2001 to win the award.

Swayman finished with a record of 18-11-5 and ranked No. 2 in the country with a .939 save percentage and No. 14 with a 2.07 goals-against average.

The 2017 fourth-round NHL draft pick of the Boston Bruins also asserted himself as one of the greatest goalies in Maine Black Bears history.

He became his school’s all-time leader in saves (3,130) and minutes (5,903) while moving up to No. 3 in games (100) and No. 5 in wins (47).

His career .927 save percentage is the second best, trailing only NHL goalie’s Jimmy Howard (.931).