Cyclocross season sees 245 participants in Anchorage

October 23, 2020

The pandemic didn’t stop the cyclocross season in Anchorage.

A race at Kincaid park on October 17 wrapped up the six-race ArcticCross season, which saw 245 participants complete at least one event.

Races were held at Kincaid (two), Mirror Lake, Russian Jack, Service High School and Hilltop.

The best four results among the six races counted for the final standings.

In the open men division, Will Ross, who won three races, prevailed with 230 points, followed by Branden Lashua (215) and Jason Lamoreaux (210).

In the open women division, Melanie Beale (230 points) topped Andrea Kettler (210) and Kinsey Loan (173). Megan Chelf, after winning the first women’s open race, sacrificed her chance at the women’s open podium by competing in the men’s open thereafter and placing 10th overall.

Free homemade bike-themed face masks were distributed to all youth participants before the final race and an COVID-19 mitigation plan was adhered to all season.

The division champions were:

Men — Open: Will Ross; Master 40+: Chris Wrobel; Master 55+: Mike Howard; Intermediate: Nicholas Straka; Beginner: Bace Poplawski; Single speed: James Fredrick; Junior Elite: Walker Battreall; Junior: Owen Harth; Pedal Bike: Boden Jetter; Strider: Maddox Neff.

Women — Open: Melanie Beale; Master 40+: Jody Barton; Master 55+: Stephanie Kesler; Intermediate: Sheryl Loan; Beginner: Chelsea Sternicki; Single speed: Natasha Graham; Junior Elite: Dara Stull; Junior: Harriet Levine; Pedal Bike: Svea Kastning; Strider: Signe Kastning.