Griffin headlines Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame 2021 class

June 30, 2021

Kelsey Griffin

One of Alaska’s greatest basketball players elevated the Nebraska women’s program to new heights during her career.

Eagle River’s Kelsey Griffin is now getting the ultimate reward.

The hoops star headlines the 2021 University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame class that will be inducted Oct. 1 in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Griffin led the Huskers to three NCAA Tournaments, including the best season in program history when the Huskers posted the first perfect regular season in Big 12 history (29-0).

She was named to the Big 12 Conference All-Rookie team as a freshman. She earned first-team All-Big 12 honors and led Nebraska to the NCAA Tournament each of the next two years before missing the 2008-09 season due to an injury.

The 6-foot-2 forward returned from the injury with one of the most complete seasons in program history in 2009-10.

As a senior, Griffin was a first-team All-American, the Big 12 Player of the Year and a finalist for every national player-of-the-year award. She also earned a spot on the Big 12 All-Defensive Team and was Nebraska’s first Senior CLASS award winner in any sport.

Griffin led the Huskers to their first-ever NCAA Sweet 16 appearance and only Big 12 regular-season title.

Along the way, Nebraska posted the first perfect regular season in Big 12 Conference history, achieved the highest ranking in school history (No. 3) and was a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Griffin ended her career with a school-record 127 starts and 40 double-doubles, while ranking second in program history in rebounds (1,019) and third in points (2,033).

Following her Husker career, Griffin was the No. 3 overall pick in the 2010 WNBA Draft, and she was named to the 2010 WNBA All-Rookie Team.

After five seasons in the WNBA, Griffin went on to play in Australia’s WNBL where, as of 2020, she was a three-time WNBL champion and three-time Grand Final MVP.

Griffin graduated with a degree in biological sciences from the University of Nebraska in 2010. Her No. 23 jersey was retired by Nebraska in 2014.