Mt. Marathon champs share Alaska Athlete of the Week honors

July 12, 2021

Hannah Lafleur of Seward and David Norris of Fairbanks were named Alaska Athlete of the Week co-winners after impressive victories at the 93rd Mount Marathon race.

Defending champion Lafleur (she won in 2019, there was no race last year) pulled away from a strong field on the strength of an 11:44 downhill time, the 4th fastest recorded downhill in race history and over a minute faster than her nearest competitor.

The 32-year-old’s winning time of 51:24 was even more remarkable given the muddy uphill trail.

Norris was equally outstanding. The 30-year-old won his third Mount Marathon in three attempts in dominating fashion. His time of 43:27 was more than two and a half minutes better than group of elite Alaskan and out-of-state invite runners in the chase pack.

Norris holds the Mount Marathon course record, recording a time of 41:26 in 2016.

The athlete of the week recipient is selected by a panel each Friday and announced Saturday at 11 a.m. on the Sports Guys on CBS Sports Radio 590AM and 96.7FM.

View past winners here.