Posts By: Van Williams

Hausinger hauls in another honor with All-USCHO honors

March 26, 2020

Anchorage’s Christian Hausinger reeled in another awesome accolade, earning First Team All-USCHO D3 honors. The University of Wisconsin-River Falls junior was one of two defensemen named to the first team. Earlier this month he was named WIAC Player of the Year. Hausinger, of Dimond High fame, bagged 10 goals and 26 assists for 36 points… Read more »

Sweet 16: All-Alaska All-Time NCAA D1 Women’s Basketball Team

March 25, 2020

During the COVID-19 outbreak Alaska Sports Blog editor Van Williams will be taking the opportunity to take a retrospective look at Alaska sports. The first in our series is ‘Sweet 16’ with a look at the 16 best women hoops NCAA D1 players in our state’s history. Alaska has produced dozens of NCAA D1 women’s… Read more »

Healthy Futures rolls out April campaign to keep people moving and social

March 23, 2020

Our Healthy Futures program is kicking off 100 Miles in May a month early to encourage physical activity and social interaction – two critical needs at the moment. Sports teams, whether high school, club, adult league, etc., can sign up their group in the sports team category.  Besides sports teams, families, friends, and workplaces can… Read more »

Hebard third Alaska woman named First Team AP All-American

March 20, 2020

Ruthy Hebard of Fairbanks received arguably the most prestigious individual honor of her college basketball career after being named a First Team Associated Press All-American. The 6-foot-4 University of Oregon senior forward was one of just five players in the entire country to make the first team, solidifying her superstar status. Hebard led the nation… Read more »

Swayman first Alaskan since 2001 to win Walter Brown Award

March 17, 2020

Anchorage’s Jeremy Swayman all season was considered to be one of college hockey’s top goalies, but then he separated himself from the rest of the pack over the final three weeks of the season. The University of Maine junior netminder led the NCAA with 1,099 saves and finished with three shutouts in his last five… Read more »

Kimber named Alaska Sports Hall of Fame athlete of the week

March 15, 2020

Sitka’s Sydnee Kimber capped her sensational sophomore season by winning two national titles at the Cliff Keen National Collegiate Women’s Wrestling Championship in Aiden, Michigan. She won one title on her own and one with the McKendree University team. The 191-pounder went 3-0 in her weight class and outscored her opponents 24-0. The winner is… Read more »

King wears a triple-crown for Porterville College in California

March 12, 2020

Colin King of Fairbanks is running away with MVP honors of the Porterville College baseball team. The sophomore slugger leads the Pirates with a .300 batting average, two home runs and 18 RBIs in 19 games. King, of Lathrop High fame, had two games in the California Community College Athletic Association where he basically single-handedly… Read more »

Johnson throws well in relief to earn win for Indiana Wesleyan

March 10, 2020

Parker Johnson of Anchorage pitched well in relief for Indiana Wesleyan University and was rewarded with his first win. The right-hander struck out a career-high six batters over 4.1 innings as NAIA Wildcats beat Saint Francis 14-11 in Fort Wayne, Indiana. The former South Post 4 player entered the slugfest in the bottom of the… Read more »

Brains and brawn: Ottum named RMAC Summit Award winner

March 9, 2020

Anchorage’s Noah Ottum of Colorado School of Mines wrestling team has been selected Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Summit Award winner for the second consecutive season. The Summit Award is given to one student-athlete in each RMAC sport of sophomore standing or above who has the top cumulative GPA at that sport’s championship tournament or meet,… Read more »

Schumacher named AK Sports Hall of Fame athlete of the week

March 8, 2020

Anchorage skier Gus Schumacher wiped away decades of frustration for the US Ski Team by becoming the first American male to win a World Junior Championship. Schumacher used a killer kick over the final two kilometers to come from behind and snag the gold medal in the 10-K classic race in Germany by 4.5 seconds…. Read more »