Search Results for: Nina Kemppel

Nina Kemppel

For more than a decade, Nina Kemppel reigned as America’s queen of the ski trails and Alaska’s queen of the mountain, doing so with equal parts style and substance. Her record as one of the country’s best cross-country skiers is documented in the U.S. record books. During an international racing career that spanned 13 years and four Winter Olympics, Kemppel claimed a record 18 national championships.

Kemppel joins ASHOF board [Hall of Fame]

She was a world-class athlete and pioneer in American cross-country skiing, so it made sense Nina Kemppel of Anchorage be added to the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame board of directors. She is one of only two board members in the Hall of Fame after being inducted in 2009. Kemppel, of West High fame, is… Read more »

Hooe, Norris headline 2017 Directors’ Awards recipients

Two fierce competitors setting new standards and two athletes dedicated to youth mentorship comprise the 2017 Directors’ Awards Class. The Directors’ Awards recipients will be honored at the annual Alaska Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony and reception on Thursday, April 27 at the Anchorage Museum. The 2017 winners: Pride of Alaska Award (female)-–For Consistent… Read more »

Alaska Sports Hall of Fame events scheduled Thursday, Friday

The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame has assembled many of Alaska’s greatest athletes for its 10th anniversary this week, a group that includes Olympians, Native sports icons, mainstream athletes, mushers, mountaineers and many more. A free community celebration from 6-9 p.m. Thursday at the Alaska Airlines Center kicks off the festivities. “It is going to… Read more »

2016 Directors’ Awards winners announced

ANCHORAGE – Two athletes on meteoric career trajectories and two teams on remarkable runs of excellence bookend a 2016 Directors’ Awards Class that also includes a hockey star-turned leader of youth and a basketball player who overcame tremendous adversity. The 2016 Directors’ Awards recipients will be recognized this summer at the Alaska Sports Hall of… Read more »

The List

People George Attla Chad Bentz Carlos Boozer Red Boucher Holly Brooks John Brown Martin Buser Susan Butcher Mario Chalmers Don Clary Corey Cogdell Janay DeLoach  Herb Didrickson Rosey Fletcher Scott Gomez Jeannie Hebert-Truax Virgil Hooe Nicole Johnston Reggie Joule Nina Kemppel Jeff King Trajan Langdon Wally Leask Hilary Lindh Lance Mackey Dick Mize Tommy Moe… Read more »

Randall, Dunbar and Strabel among 2014 Directors’ Awards class

Runners and skiers headline the list of names for the 2014 Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Directors’ Awards. The recipients were selected by the ASHOF board of directors based on consideration for their contributions, actions and achievements in sports over the past year or recent years. They will be recognized along with the Class of 2014… Read more »

Mount Marathon

Runners in the annual Mount Marathon Race up and down the 3,022-foot slab of pain overlooking Resurrection Bay in Seward pass an emergency room before their tortuous grind up the mountain and pass it again after their harrowing descent. At mountain’s base sits an ambulance. Adjacent to the finish chute downtown is a medical tent. Countless numbers have left flesh and blood sprinkled among the rocks, cliffs, dirt, shale and scree along the course of three miles-plus in the Fourth of July race that officially began in 1915 .


Contact Us Alaska Sports Hall of Fame 11901 Industry Way, STE A-9 Anchorage, AK 99515 Staff Harlow Robinson, Executive Director Founding member of the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame.  Has been been involved with Healthy Futures since 2006, initially serving as an advisory board member.  Prior to his current position Harlow worked with at-risk… Read more »