Milo Griffin of Fairbanks, Cristy Hickel of Anchorage and Ed Strabel of Palmer have been named by the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors as finalists for the 2020 Joe Floyd Award.

The Joe Floyd Award is based on significant and lasting contribution to Alaska through sports and has been handed out annually since 2012.

Milo Griffin

Milo Griffin, Fairbanks – Griffin has been on the sports scene in Interior Alaska for 55 years. He has coached numerous state championships at Lathrop and West Valley in sports including basketball, track and field and tennis. His service to youth is without measure and his influence is always evident at state championships when you see how many kids from all over the state go up and talk to him. He was also a star basketball player at the University of Alaska Fairbanks and ranks No. 2 all-time in scoring for the men’s program.

Cristy Hickel

Cristy Hickel, Anchorage — Hickel’s life’s goal is to help our youth succeed. She founded SPYDER Soccer 30 years ago and has provided opportunities in sports leagues to thousands of Alaska youth. Better known as ‘Crusher,’ she also coaches the Alaska All-Stars nationals-bound Under-16 and Under-19 girls hockey teams and has helped more than 200 women reach the college hockey level.

Ed Strabel

Ed Strabel, Palmer — For decades, Strabel has created and maintained sport facilities, coached successful athletic teams and improved sports accessibility for countless people. His legacy includes the Crevasse Moraine Trail System, the Government Peak Recreation Area, and waking before 4 a.m. to groom ski trails.

Here is a list of past Joe Floyd Award winners:
2019: Brush Christiansen
2018: Jim Mahaffey
2017: Ma’o Tosi
2016: Dennis Sorenson
2015: Michael Friess
2014: Dick Mize
2013: Don Dennis
2012: Steve Nerland and Don Winchester

This is one of four Directors’ Awards handed out by the seven-person committee that makes up the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

Here is a list of 2020 finalists for each of the four awards:
Joe Floyd Award – Milo Griffin, Cristy Hickel, Ed Strabel
Trajan Langdon Award – Will be announced Friday
Women’s Pride of Alaska Award – Will be announced Saturday
Men’s Pride of Alaska Award – Will be announced Sunday

Directors’ Award winners will be announced June 24.

2020 Joe Floyd Award
Also Receiving Votes

Dan Gensel – Gensel has broadcast football, hockey and basketball games on the Kenai Peninsula for two decades and is regarded as one of the best in the business.

Kathleen Navarre – Navarre has been a fixture in Alaska sports for more than 25 years. She has served as an athletic director at both Kodiak and Dimond high schools and has coached numerous sports including flag football and track & field.

Frank Ostanik – Ostanik has coached Monroe Catholic to three state championships and reached the state title game six times in his 10 seasons as bench boss. A lifelong Fairbanks resident, he has an unparalleled dedication to his team, school, and community.

Jim Patton and Jerry Miller — Patton and Miller organize Friday Night at the Fights, which has brought boxing and now mixed martial arts to downtown Anchorage for 30 years. Miller is the matchmaker and Patton is the promoter and announcer.

Richard Shellhorn – A retired broadcaster of Cordova High School basketball games, he still runs the court as a referee. He’s also a writer for the Cordova newspaper and author of two books, the latest “Balls and Stripes.”

Jamie Smith – Smith has been integral to Mat-Su Valley youth and high school hockey for 30 years. He has coached at Wasilla, Colony and Houston, where he won multiple state championships.

Jim Young – Young has helped dozens of student-athletes get the opportunity to play basketball after high school through his Team 907 and his exposure camps. He also runs the YMCA youth basketball league in Anchorage and coached the Dimond girls team to multiple state titles.

Jeannie Hebert-Truax – Hebert-Truax has exemplified what a champion is. Even in a loss, she is a class act and leader for all to follow, win or lose. As a Hall-of-Fame player and championship girls basketball coach, she has had a positive influence in lives of so many athletes and kids in the Mat-Su Valley and in Anchorage as a coach, teacher and mentor.

Greg Matyas – His contribution to winter biking in the world has been under-recognized. We have an amazing winter biking culture and Matyas has been part of it since the beginning, including innovating bike technology for a better ride.

Kyle Worl – Native games athlete who excels in a majority of the events at the World Indian Eskimo Olympics and Arctic Winter games. Three years ago, he moved to Juneau and started Native Youth Olympics at the local schools, with the assistance of Sealaska Heritage.